Homemade Dog Food.

A few years ago, my good friend, Jen Sale showed me how she made homemade dog food.  I was impressed, and went home to give it a shot.  At first it seemed like it would take a lot of my time, but actually I cook it right alongside our regular meals in batches that last 4 or 5 days.  Its not expensive, and I think it has to be much healthier for the dog than a straight diet of dry kibble or canned crap. (By the way, I have fed my dog Pedigree and it gave him the worst gas…UGH!)

So, what I do on my grocery runs is look for deals on chicken.  Many times Stater Bros. has some kind of special on whole chickens or cut up fryers…chicken is chicken, dogs don’t care how its packaged.  When I find a great deal, I buy a lot and freeze it for future batches.

I feed my dogs twice a day, and do throw a little dry kibble on top of the chicken meal I made for them…they gobble it up.

Easy peasy…Boil chicken until fully cooked with some carrots and green beans, take the chicken out of the broth and let it cool so you can de-bone it in half an hour or so. (Burning fingers is not fun). NEVER NEVER put onions in your dog food.  My doggie has gotten very sick from accidentally eating onion.  I add carrots and green beans because I know they are safe.  While your chicken is cooling add some brown rice to your boiling broth, its usually done within 20 – 30 minutes.  Remove the meat from the bones and add it back into your broth.  Voila!  Dog food!  Image

I re-purpose plastic Parmesan cheese tubs to store the homemade dog food, and if I happen to make a lot, then I put some of it in the freezer for later use.  Another hint is to let the food cool to nearly room temperature before putting it in the refrigerator or freezer.  If it cools too quickly then there is a chance of contaminating your dog food with botulism.

Have a great day!

Categories: Home cooked meals, Love my Pits | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.